Fun Friday: A little bit of this…..

Friday is upon us, and marks a full week of me being back on a normal blogging schedule.  Yay me!  I’m looking forward to the weekend; I have an outing planned with Big Sis, and I don’t know which I’m more looking forward to:  seeing Hitchcock’s classic “Rear Window” on the big screen, or getting chili cheese fries (my first in over a year) at our favorite burger joint.  Man, that’s a hard one to call.

In the meantime, however, time to get on with our Fun Friday adventure.  First,  you see the picture to the left; isn’t that gorgeous?  I couldn’t stop looking at it, so amazing.  This popped up on my Facebook feed, courtesy of Bret Dusic, old friend, and co-founder of  Vandalia Con, the Steampunk convention in Charleston West Virginia (I never pass up the opportunity to plug this con, check it out).  The picture is on a site simply named Afropunk.  I can’t find out where the collection originally came from, but there’s another site with some more photos (there’s a lot of duplication, but still check it out, the extras are as gorgeous as the duplicates)  The photos are certain to be of interest to the Steampunks among you.  Even if you’re not into Steam, the pictures are just beautiful to look at.  My goodness yes.


 

Next, we move up a few years to 1904.  Seems there was a tiny town in Scotland, Selkirk, that was trying to raise money to save a bridge that was about to fall down, or be torn down, not sure.  Anyway, they had a three day fundraising event to get the money together.  The opening ceremonies were conducted by no less a personage than author Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.  Pretty cool, huh?  Okay, maybe not, but we’re getting to the cool part.  Apparently, part of the fundraiser included selling a little folio of short stories contributed by locals.  But it turns out Sir Arthur Conan Doyle wrote a 1300 word Sherlock Holmes story especially for this little fundraising pamphlet:  Sherlock Holmes: Discovering the Border Burghs and, by deduction, the Brig Bazaar.

You haven’t heard of it?  Yeah, no kidding, neither had I.  Neither had anybody, until this fellow turned up back in February, with a copy of the pamphlet.  For real!  Check out this article on it.  A new, previously unpublished Sherlock Holmes story!!!  I’m all squee about it.

And here it is, the original story, courtesy of the London Telegraph paper. Double squee!

(Yeah, about the pictures.  I know that Cummerbund person is the Big Dog in the Sherlock Holmes world right now, and I agree, he’s a cutie patootie.  But for me, Sherlock’s either Basil Rathbone or Jeremy Brett.  It’s okay to call me an old fogey; I embrace my eccentricities, they’ve been my good friends all these years)


 

Finally, we move forward many years to what could possibly be the strangest juxtaposition of well, things, that I’ve written about here.  Ladies and Gentlemen, I present you, Dieselpunk Beer.

No, I’m not kidding.  It’s a real brewery, a micro-brew, obviously, out of California.  They were brought to my attention by a very dear old friend, Mr. John Perry (he’s a journeyman writer, good ideas, right on the cusp of being published; when he gets there, I’ll be sure and link you in)  Anyway, Dieslpunk Beer produces an IPA, a stout and a porter.  Dear John Perry turned up on my doorstep the other day with three bottles of the IPA.  There’s not a soul who can say that John isn’t a giving fellow, and an aficionado of beer.

Now the thing is, while John may be a connoisseur of the brewing arts, I’m incredibly NOT.  In my misspent youth, I was known to smoke the odd bowl, but not so much on the booze front.  It all tastes like it should be poured back in the horse.  Besides, as sick as I’ve been of late, and on so many medications (including some seriously hardcore narcotics), I’m sure that drinking is not in my best interests at the moment.  So when it came time to test said beer for flavor, I turned to another man who knows his beer:  Dear Husband.

Dear Husband said it was pretty good stuff:  not too strong, hoppy with a toasted wheat taste to it, but don’t let it get warm or the flavor goes downhill fast.  He also said it was more like a lager than an IPA.  For my part, I just nodded and pretended I knew what all that meant.  If that made sense to you and you want to give it a try, the brewery webpage tells where the beer can be found.  I hope you enjoy it, and report back!  I just like the name and the label; I leave the actual tasting to experts like y’all.

Okay, I think that’s it for me!  You know the routine:  share, tweet, comment.  If you have any recommendations for Fun Friday (or for a topic for discussion, or if you have a short story you’re dying to share), email me.  Commenter Jennifer Swinford (Hi, Jennifer!) had some difficulty finding my email address on the About Me page.  I have since made that a lot easier to find (I hope it’s easier).  In the meantime, if you want to write, try me at ajwriter – @ – ajclarkson.net  (take out the dashes and spaces; gotta do my part to foil the dastardly email bots!)

And with that, I’m off in my flying machine, to continue my quest for world domination.  Or to wash my dishes; something like that.  Y’all enjoy your weekend, but not too much; drink responsibly (dieselpunk beer!) and if you can’t be good, don’t get caught!  Later!

Categories: Dieselpunk, Fun Friday, History, Pictures, Reader Contributions, Steampunk | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

