Fun Friday: Deadlands and Pretty Pictures

Wow, non sequitur title much, Batman?  Hi, guys, another Friday has rolled around, and the blessed weekend is staring us in the face.  I have big plans:  Greek Festival.  One of the local Greek Orthodox churches hosts a big festival every September, with lots of music, dancing, tours of the church, vendors and food — GLORIOUS FOOD! — on offer for the general public.  Big Sister and I make a point of going every year, mostly because of the food.  Gyros, spanikopita, moussaka, keftedes, dolmades, you name it, I’m in favor of it (And hummus! Oh God, I love hummus!).  Sadly, money is very tight this year in the Clarkson treetop lair, so I won’t be able to do my usual practice of buying a box or two of Greek pastries to enjoy at home (delicious, but expensive).  Sigh.  Maybe I’ll post pictures on my Facebook account, so you can grind your teeth in envy at all the delicious food I’ll be enjoying.  Or, if you’re near the darkest jungles of Appalachia, you can join us; here’s a webpage.

Anyway, enough talk about my fixation on delicious food.  On to Fun Friday!  First, behold the pretty pictures!

Isn’t that cool?  Somebody over on Imgur took it into his head to take modern webpages and make Dieselpunk/Pulp style magazine advertisements for them, apparently just for the lulz.  Normally I don’t do Imgur or Instagram; I’m not a terribly visual person.  But I was searching for something else, and ended up here instead.  And they’re great; the art is well done and spot on imitations of the vintage magazine art.  The text sounds like period ads.  They just rock, and they’ll put a smile on your face.  Go check them out here and give the artist some love.

Some more pretty pictures.  Check this out:

How cool is that?  Seems there’s been a lot of recent attempts to portray superheroes, especially from the DC Universe, as WWII era pin up girls, fighter nose art, and art deco portraits and ads.  Just this morning I’ve found five different sites showing various images like Wonder Woman above.  All of them are terrific.  Here’s Number One, Number Two, and Number Three (my personal favorite) Number Four, and Number Five.  Now if only I could find one of the guy superheroes, I’d be a happy girl.

Okay, enough with the eye candy.  On to the brain candy.  So I was surfing YouTube the other day, and I stumbled across this video called “Deadlands Noir:  Hardboiled in the Big Easy.”  It was a four episode animatic-illustrated short story about a private detective in a Dieselpunk New Orleans.  Before I go any further, here’s the first video so you can see what I’m talking about.

 

So far, so good.  I liked the videos and I thought I’d write them up here.  So I go to do my due diligence and research the creators of the video.  And discovered there was a lot more information than just some cool videos.  Turns out these four videos were created as part of a Kickstarter campaign for something called Deadlands Noir.  Which is itself a spin off of something simply called Deadlands.

Okay, confession time.  I used to be a hardcore role playing gamer.  I used to write and edit for a gaming magazine, back in my misspent youth.  I would love to be in a group right now, but time, the vicissitudes of life, health, money and the inability to find a group have cut my gaming down to, well, nothing.  So I’ve sadly fallen out of touch with the latest RPGs and trends out there.  Which is exactly what happened here.  Like Weird War, which I wrote up a while back, I’d totally be playing Deadlands if I’d heard about it before and could coerce my friends into playing it with me.

So what’s Deadlands? It’s a series of RPG’s put out by Pinnacle Entertainment Group.  According to their webpage, Deadlands is a horrific journey into the “Weird West.” Mysterious beings called the Reckoners have given life to monsters and magic, causing history to divert from July 4th, 1863 forward. The South has won its independence, California has shattered into a labyrinth of flooded sea-canyons, and a mysterious super-fuel called “ghost rock” has spawned as much war and strife as it has “steampunk” devices.  Sounds promising already, right?  Players can play gunfighters, sorcerers (called hucksters, and using card-based magic!), shamans or native braves, mad scientists, etc, and go up against all manner of baddies.  The game has won no fewer than eight Origins awards for the setting, and has appeared in classic, d-20, GURPS and Savage Worlds versions (the Savage Worlds version is called Deadlands Reloaded)

Moreover, there are any number of spin off games:

  • Deadlands:  Hell on Earth.  The setting is shifted forward to an alternate future, where the Reckoners (one of the serious baddies) has turned the world into a hellish wasteland, combining the Wild West with Mad Max.
  • Deadlands:  Lost Colony.  This is the Hell on Earth concept, only shifted further forward and time, and set on an offworld colony.  It adds SF concepts to the already eclectic mix.
  • Deadlands:  Noir.  Again, the same basic concept, only shifted forward into a pulpy New Orleans setting.  This is the game that spawned the videos that started this whole search for me.

That’s not to mention two different MtG type collectible card games, three variant tabletop / miniatures war games, two traditional board games, and one video game that unfortunately was never released.  According to the Wikipedia entry on the game series, in 2014, Microsoft announced they were trying to make a TV series based on the game, and to be aired through the X-Box.

I want to play this game.  If you have, give me a shout, tell me how it plays?  In the meantime, I’ll just have to read up on the game, and watch the videos again.

Okay, so that’s it for me.  You know the routine:  share, tweet, comment, email if you have any suggestions for Fun Friday.  Monday we’ll have another installment of Fortuna’s “Cat Like Tread.”  Wednesday is the first of October!  Yay!  Until then, be good, and if you can’t be good, don’t get caught!

 

Categories: Dieselpunk, Fun Friday, Games, Pictures, Pulp, Steampunk, Video | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

