Fun Friday! Pulp, pulp and more pulp!

Morning, campers!  Exciting weekend ahead of you?  Mine promises to be fairly busy; I have radio drama to mix, which is fun, but pretty nitpicky.  But, with a little luck, it means I’ll have new radio drama to share with you all early next week (hopefully Monday!)  Normally these come out a little more quickly than this.  My life got a little too eventful this summer, and radio got pushed to the back of the queue.  But things are settling down again, so back to work we go!

But enough about me.  On to the fun stuff!

First off, let me point you at The Pulped Podcast (click here).  In their own words, “PULPED! is a Podcast dedicated to the creators and fans of New Pulp! New Pulp, heroic fiction by modern artists written with the sensibility and in the tradition of the Pulp genre! Pulp creators Barry Reese, Derrick Ferguson, Ron Fortier, and Tommy Hancock are the helmsen of this venture and will bring New Pulp discussion, guests, debates, news, and even New Pulp’s very own spokesperson, The Pulptress, to PULPED! each week! If you like your fiction heroic, if you seek adventure and action in every word you read, then come on in, take a seat, and get PULPED! PULPED! will post each Monday! ”

I like these guys because they’re excited about New Pulp, and they’re big boosters to newer writers.  But mostly I listen because I get lots of tips for new books to read, and new ideas to play around with in my own writing.  You should totally give it a listen.

Next up: Protecting Project Pulp is another podcast page promoting all things pulp (how very alliterative of me!)  You can take a peek here.  These guys are basically giving Classic Pulp the audiobook treatment, reading out stories from the 1920’s and 30’s.  Hey, not as creative as some of the stuff I like, but I know people (my husband, for instance) either prefer audio over text, or make a point to seek out audio.  They would not necessarily have access to some of the brilliant classic pulp out there without a page like this.  So yeah, go give it a listen.

Oh oh oh!  I’m so excited to show this one to you.  The Pulp and Dagger Fiction Webzine is a Canadian collection of short and long pulp fiction, founded by two brothers.  When I first encountered them a few years ago, they were still an active force, publishing new stuff every week.  They have since stopped that (one of the brothers died, if I recall correctly), but they still have their archive available online, which is good.  These are all new stories, long, short, serialized, in every pulp genre — horror, SF, fantasy, straight adventure, all nicely broken down into easily searchable bites.  I’ve read most of the stories here and they are grand fun.  They got me writing pulp again, which is a good thing as far as I’m concerned.  Check them out here!

And I think that’s it for me today.  Enjoy your weekend, stay out of mischief.  And do share, comment, tweet or email.  And if you have a contribution to next week’s Fun Friday, you know the drill, I’m always home.  Later guys!

Categories: Classic pulp, Fun Friday, Pulp | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Fun Friday! Pulp, pulp and more pulp!

  1. RE: Pulp and Dagger–those fine folks were the first to publish the early Kat and Mouse stories “A Family Affair” and “Babysitting Blues” before I went the serialization route.

    • Really? That’s terrific! I submitted to them once, but it was right around the time they were shutting down, so no dice. My timing sucks at times. Any readers following the comments, check out Abner’s Kat and Mouse stories, they’re great! And his Jericho stuff. I love Jericho.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

