Fun Friday! Dieselpunk Ahoy!

Fun Friday Strikes Again!  I hope your week went well, and I can only imagine what sort of exciting weekends you might have planned.  For myself, we’re expecting a visit from Princess Lydia Saree, from the Floating Island of Silent Whispers, who is visiting the darkest jungles of Appalachia on a diplomatic mission.  She turns 22 on Saturday, so we’re planning to give her a party, an elegant and restrained affair, as is the tradition of the native Appalachian Hillbilly.

In the meantime, I owe you, my loyal readers, a glimpse of the wonders that I have found in my explorations through the Ether.  And I am here to deliver.

First, let’s talk web series.  I have found a doozy for you.  The Danger Element is a 2013-14 project by web-video auteur John Soares.  (You can find out more about Soares here) .  It’s pulp/dieselpunk fun, an action adventure about a young man, a member of a secret society of crime fighters, who joins his sister in a quest to find a mysterious element that may bring their father back from the dead.  Unfortunately, they are opposed in their quest by men with dark and sinister plans of their own.  Soares is known online for his martial-arts heavy stories, and this one is no exception.  I also really like the Dieselpunk aesthetic which he captures beautifully:  great sets, terrific costumes, and OH MY GOD what cool guns and props!  Seriously, wow.

There are twelve episodes in this (finished!) story, and the entire playlist can be found here.  But to whet your appetite, here’s the teaser…

It might behoove you to do a little YouTube surfing and find out what else John Soares is up to.  With just a little browsing, I found this, which appears to be a series of vlogs purportedly from a … well, he’s a….  Okay, I’m not sure what he is.  Imagine Invader Zim and Doctor Horrible had an illegitimate alien child, and raised him to think he’s Ming the Merciless.  Yeah.  It’s weird.  Anyway, he’s preparing our planet for his imminent arrival and the subjugation of our species.  If he can work out how to make his iPad work.  I haven’t watched all of it, but so far, it’s pretty fun, pulpy goodness.  Here’s a teaser….

On a quieter note, I’ve found an online archive of pulp magazines.  The Pulp Magazines Project is “an open-access digital archive dedicated to the study and preservation of one of the twentieth century’s most influential literary & artistic forms: the all-fiction pulpwood magazine”  to quote their home page.  The site itself is beautiful to look at (if a little clumsy to navigate), and they have galleries of cover art, articles on the history of the genre.  Of course they have facsimiles of the magazines themselves, and a jaw-droppingly extensive bibliography.  The downside is that the linking is not as comprehensive as I would like, which is a pity.  But still, definitely worth checking out if you’re addicted to all things Pulp.  Look here.

Okay, I thought I had one more tidbit for you.  But I want to do a bit more research before I put my stamp of approval on it.  So I think I’m going to leave off here.  I do hope you have fun with the links.  In the meantime, don’t forget to comment, share, tweet, and email and share your Fun Friday recommendations.  Communication is the lifeblood of the blogger, you know.  Enjoy your weekends!

 

 

Categories: books, Classic pulp, Dieselpunk, DIY, Fun Friday, Pulp, Science Fiction, Video | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

