Fun Friday: Do it yourself!

Short installment from me today.  It’s a holiday, and I’m going to have a houseful of children and grandchildren!  Yay me!

You have’t seen many cosplay posts from ClarksonPunk because I’m not a cosplayer.  It all looks cool, don’t get me wrong. But spending tons of money and time on a costume, getting it perfect in every detail, and then cramming it down into a wheelchair, where nobody can see it?  Seems to defeat the purpose, and robs the experience of its pleasure.

But that doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy seeing the work of others.  And I do love to sew; my granny put a needle and thread into my hands when I was four years old, and I’ve been sewing ever since.  So, while I can’t cosplay myself, I do enjoy learning about techniques and seeing the pretties when they’re finished.

To that end, here are a couple links for you.  First, a DIY corset making tutorial, for those of you of a Steampunk bent.  I’ve made some corsets in my time (I used to be in the SCA), and I can tell you from experience, those boogers have to be well fitted, or else they stab you in unseemly places.  This is a great tutorial.  It is linked to a YouTube tutorial playlist, so you can watch the process in action. This is a big help.

Next up, for you New Pulp/Diesel types, I found this terrific page called 1940’s Hairstyles that shows, well, 1940’s hairstyles, obviously. It does both men and women, and also shows make up styles and a few hat suggestions and DIY’s.  I was particularly attracted to the video below, which shows how to do a Victory Roll, which is a hairstyle I’ve been enamored of since I first saw it in the movies.  It’s a lot easier than I anticipated.  Check it out!

Finally, I was surfing and found this page, Offbeat Bridal, that had a tutorial for how to make a top hat. They’re making little hats, but there’s no reason you can’t do a full sized one, or even larger, if you were feeling Alice-in-Wonderland-ish.

 

And I think that’s it for me.  Told you it was gonna be a short one.  I’m a busy busy girl today.  Americans, enjoy you holiday.  Not-Americans, enjoy your weekend!  And don’t forget to share, comment, email!

Categories: Dieselpunk, DIY, Pulp, Steampunk, Video | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

